October 18, 2015 ~ Life Member Rennie Herbert’s 90th Birthday



TMTA North and NW Branches had the greatest pleasure in helping Life Member, Rennie Herbert, celebrate her 90th birthday in style at the Tasmanian Food and Wine Conservatory. Rennie has been a stalwart of the musical life of the NW Coast for many years as a teacher of piano and singing, and founder of the Renae Singers (children’s choir). 14 former Renae Singers (from early 1990s to around 2008) gave a surprise performance with renditions of some of her favourite songs, finishing with a resounding (and very well-harmonised) version of “Happy Birthday”.







September 19, 2015 ~ TMTA State Awards (North and North West)

TMTA NW Branch and State Award winners, Grade 6 to Diploma










The annual awards concert was held at Lifeway Baptist Chruch, Devonport, with AMEB Examiner, performer and teacher, Jodi Heald, adjudicating.

Madame Helen George Award (Grade 3-5)

First Prize: Ronan Storay (piano), student of Ruth Parsons.
Runner up:  Abigail Woods (piano), student of Ruth Parsons

Ann McGarry Award (Grade 6-8/Certificate of Performance)

First prize:  Inighion Quinn (violin), student of Gail Tivendale.
Runner up:  Abigail Piscioneri (piano), student of Gail Tivendale

Graeme Buchanan Award (Diploma)

First prize: Katrina Wong (piano), student of Lynda Nicholls.


August 16, 2015 ~ Southern Branch Piano Competitions

Competitions were held at the Friends’ School, Hodgkin Hall with adjudicator, Amanda Hodder. Results are as follows:

Junior Pianoforte Shield (Grade 2 or lower) in memory of Mollie Retjoe

First prize:  Jiming Wang, student of Annette Stilwell
Second Prize:  Joy Zhang, student of Annette Stilwell

Intermediate Brenda Hean Piano Competition (now incorporating the Madame Helen George Award, Grade 3-5)

First prize:  Meika Healey Choroszy, student of Karen Clark
Second Prize: Aden Chan, student of Karen Clark

Senior Brenda Hean Piano Competition (now incorporating the Ann McGarry Award, Grade 6-8)

First prize:  Olivia Eade, student of Annette Stilwell.

Graeme Buchanan Award (Diploma Level)

No entries this year.


TMTA Annual Conference 2015

TMTA 2015 Conf
TMTA Annual Conference 2015 was held on Saturday, February 28, 2015 in Hobart. This year we were privileged to have as our speakers Frances Underwood, who presented the 2015 Jan Sedivka Memorial Lecture and musician, author and motivational speaker, Ruth Bonetti, who presented three inspiring sessions. You can find out more about Ruth on her website.